proposal call tacwt may 2019.jpg
Clay Reynolds May 2019 for TACWT.jpg

TACWT Conference, September 2019


TACWT will hold its next annual gathering in Houston, Texas, at the Embassy Suites Galleria, from September 26 - 28, 2019.


A conference pass costs $50 for general members and $20 for student members, and it will grant admission to all of the panels--on pedagogy trends and developments--as well as the readings of original poems, stories, and essays written by members. Sessions begin on Thursday (3:00-6:00 p.m.), and the conference ends on Saturday at noon. A conference pass also grants admission to all coffee and refreshment breaks. At a later date, TACWT will announce Thursday and Friday night gathering sites.  

Selected works by presenters will be published in the annual volume of Writing Texas, a journal sponsored by TACWT. To be considered for publication, the works must be previously unpublished and presented at the conference. For more information on the anthology, visit the WT Website.

In order to present at the conference, presenters must pay for their conference pass and dues ($40 for general members / not required for student members) by September 20th. 

E-mail proposals (for panels, pedagogy presentations, or readings of creative works) to from now until the deadline of June 1.

To submit an individual creative presentation, please indicate the genre of your work and a short sampling of what you might plan to read (3 poems or up to 1000 words of prose).  

For writing workshops or for individual presentations on pedagogy, theory, or publishing: please provide a brief synopsis of your topic (3-5 sentences).  For panels, include a synopsis of your topic and possible panelists.  

To reserve your room at the Embassy Suites Galleria, call 1-713-626-5444 or make your online reservation here.

Register for the conference here.

Our keynote speaker this year will be Dr. Clay Reynolds.  

Clay Reynolds, novelist, short-fiction-writer, essayist, book critic, and scholarly writer, retired from his position as Professor of Arts and Humanities and Director of Creative Writing at the University of Texas at Dallas at the end of 2018. Author and/or editor of twenty volumes, including ten works of fiction and one volume of creative nonfiction, Reynolds has been honored with writing awards from the Western Writers Association and the Texas Institute of Letters. A career educator, Reynolds's students have won many awards, including Pushcart Awards and have many publications to their credit; he also taught at the University of North Texas and Lamar University as well as at the University of Tulsa, from where he obtained his PhD in Modern Letters. He currently resides in Lowry Crossing, Texas, a small community in Collin County. His publications and links to his award winning writing can be found on his website, Clay Reynolds


I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

embassy suites galleria.jpg

Conference Schedule

Thursday, September 26

12:30 p.m

Welcome and registration

1:00-2:15 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Prose: Steve Sherwood (moderator), Yasmin Ramirez, Dede Fox

Ballroom 2--Poetry: Dave Parsons (moderator), Samantha Ceballos,

Victoria Phillips  

2:25-3:15 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Publishing panel with Dan Williams, Jerry Craven,

and Jim Sanderson

Ballroom 2--Poetry: Jan Seale (moderator), Sheena Peppler, Mark Esperanza

3:25-4:15 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Panel: Editing an Anthology with Janet Lowery, Dave Parsons, Kim Davis, and Jerry Bradley

Ballroom 2--Poetry: Dan Williams (moderator), Loretta Diane Walker, Alexandra Van de Kamp

4:25-5:30 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Poetry: Katie Hoerth (moderator), Logen Cure, Stacy Nigliazzo 

Ballroom 2--Prose: Jill Patterson (moderator), Grace Megnet, Kimberly Yosko, Jim Sanderson

5:30-7:00 p.m.

Happy hour and dinner break

7:00-8:00 pm

Main Ballroom

Keynote speaker Clay Reynolds

Introduced by Moumin Quazi, Treasurer

Anthology release celebration and dessert

Friday, September 27

8:00-8:50 a.m.

Ballroom 1--Poetry: Chantel Langlinais Carlson (moderator), Sharon Joffe,

Claire Phillips-Latham

Ballroom 2--Creative Writing Pedagogies with Jules Gates and Emma Tsai

9:00-9:50 a.m.

Ballroom 1--Prose: Cheryl Clements (moderator), Moumin Quazi, John Schulze

Ballroom 2--Poetry: A Roundtable on Rounding Out Your Writing Life

with Jan Seale

10:00-10:50 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Panel: Teaching Creative Writing in an Institutional Setting:

Dede Fox (moderator), Nancy Barnhart

Ballroom 2--Poetry: Chris Ellery (moderator), Eric Shah, Casey Ford

11:00-12:00 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Poetry: Tom Murphy (moderator), Steve Wilson, Zoe Ramos,

Robin Carstensen

Ballroom 2--Mixed Genre: Julie Gates (moderator), Jerry Bradley, Emma Tsai

12:00-1:00 p.m.

Lunch on your own

1:00-2:00 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Poetry: Laurence Musgrove (moderator), Janet McCann, Mag Gabbart

Ballroom 2--Panel: Teaching CRW in a Bicultural, Bilingual, Binational

Border State

with Yasmin Ramirez, Minerva Laveaga Luna, Richard Yañez, Arturo Valdespino

2:10-3:15 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Poetry: Sandi Horton (moderator), Chloe Honum, Dickie Heaberlin, Natalia Trevino

Ballroom 2--Panel: Cultivating Encouragement Among Writers and Editors

with Robin Carstensen, Tom Murphy, Sheena Peppler, Zoe Ramos, Sydney Spangler

3:25-4:35 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Prose: Terry Dalrymple (moderator), Anthony D'Aries,

Terri Tucker, Richard Yañez 

Ballroom 2--Poetry: Lisha Garcia (moderator), John Poch, Janet Lowery

4:45-5:50 p.m.

Business Meeting 

5:30-6:30 p.m.

Happy Hour and break

6:30-8:30 p.m.

Student Awards Reception and Dinner

Undergraduate Fiction: Robert Adams, "Did You Enjoy the Story?",

taught by Jim Sanderson, Lamar University

Undergraduate Nonfiction: Sydney Spangler, "Receipts," 

taught by Robin Carstensen, Texas A&M Corpus Christi

Undergraduate Poetry: Alexis Nunes, "21,"

taught by Janet Lowery, University of St. Thomas in Houston

Graduate Fiction: Megan Ryan, "And the Night Will Be No More,"

taught by Jim Sanderson, Lamar University

Graduate Nonfiction: Megan Ryan, "What Deserves to Be Wild, 

taught by Katie Hoerth, Lamar University

Graduate Poetry: Peter Vertacnik, "Daybreak on Lake Huron,"

taught by John Poch, Texas Tech University

M.C.: Gretchen Johnson, Student Award Coordinator

Saturday, September 28


8:00-8:50 a.m.

Ballroom 1--Panel: The Challenge of Being a Community Writer:

Lisha Garcia, Alexandra Van de Kamp, Robin Carstensen, Loretta Diane Walker

Ballroom 2--Prose: Gretchen Johnson (moderator), Minerva Laveaga Luna, Wayne Gay

9:00-9:50 a.m.

Ballroom 1--Workshop 1: Janet McCann

Ballroom 2--Poetry: Carol Coffee Reposa (moderator), Maria Garcia, Jerry Craven

10:00-10:50 a.m.

Ballroom 1--Workshop 2: Laurence Musgrove

Ballroom 2--Outside the Classroom: Activities for Nontraditional

CW Workshops: Michelle Dominique Burk, Mag Gabbert,

Sebastian Hasani Paramo

11:00-11:50 a.m.

Ballroom 1--Pedagogy panel: Butter Get Jamming 

with Mark Esperanza and Daniel Lockerbie

Ballroom 2--Mixed Genre: Matthew Pitt (moderator), Macie McDonald,

Mark Busby

12:00-1:00 p.m.

Ballroom 1--Plenary Prose Reading: Betty Wiesepape (moderator),

Jeffrey Delotto, Nkiach Atemnkeng